Mortal Instruments [Series]

That which was new was almost always temporary. And that which was temporary broke your heart.

instrumentsCity of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

I read the first five books in this series about a year ago. It took me about five days to finish the final book. That’s because it’s a busy time and it’s a long book, not because I didn’t like it.

This book tied up so many story lines from the previous instalments and incorporated the characters from the Infernal Devices series by Clare. I loved the subtle tie-ins, probably because I enjoyed the other series so much (maybe even better than this one). My biggest problem reading this book was having my thoughts drift back to the movie that came out last summer about the first movie. I found it to be a complete disappointment. It’s not that I dislike any of the actors in it per say, but I didn’t think that any one of them, except maybe Simon, were cast well, and while reading, I kept thinking about these actors in these situations and it became muddled and difficult. I wish I had never watched the movie because the pictures in my head were so much different.

City of Heavenly Fire was a lovely closer to the series. Love and loss, family and friendship — the themes are enjoyably woven together with the hardships and the sacrifices the story takes. The characters come to an end with a sense of hope and thoughts of keeping on.

Perhaps when I get through my TBR pile, I’ll revisit the world of Shadowhunters and Downworlders. For now, I’m ready to leave them behind. Perhaps I’ll start again with the next series coming from Clare, with some of the characters introduced in the final book of this one. I’m eagerly awaiting the dramatic death of the Seelie Queen. I hope it’s coming. She is wicked and terrible and needs to die….don’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

