Love Letters to the Dead

I think a lot of people want to be someone, but we are scared that if we try, we won’t be as good as everyone imagines we could be.

18140047Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

How it begins: Dear Kurt Cobain,
Mrs. Buster gave us our first assignment in English today, to write a letter to a dead person.

Quick read. I found a number of passages came with particular impact, on the high side for typical YA reads. The story was cute, but kind of typical and not that difficult to predict. There were a lot of similarities to both The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Sky is Everywhere. Both books I loved, so that’s ok, but I found myself spending too much time comparing the stories, the characters, the styles. I love letters and I think telling a story with them is interesting and carries great potential. I write them in my head all the time. The dead people who Laurel write to represent great things in history which adds depth and interest to the storyline.

Overall, a cute read, but if you’ve already read the the other two books I mentioned you may find yourself thinking you’ve read parts of it before.

Leave a Reply

