We Were Liars

WeWereLiarsJacketFinal

 We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

How it begins: Welcome to the beautiful Sinclair family. No one is a criminal. No one is an addict. No one is a failure.

The best part about the book was the writing. The prose was delightful. I read this one on a long car ride as well, and it didn’t take me long. The worst part about this book was that I figured it out before it ended. That kind of bugged me a little bit, and it made me deflate, but the writing was beautiful. I found that the subject matter took back seat to the words and I loved that.

The subject matter was common, but the descriptions were better than I’ve read before. The characters were not all redeemed and I was happy for that. The losses are incredible and there are times that you want to reach through the pages and shake the people who are left.

The story shines a light on priorities and friendship and the imperfect balance of it all.

 

Leave a Reply

