How I Came to Sparkle Again

No matter what comes flying at you, don’t catch it. Step aside and let it fly by. Think of all those words as if they were balls bouncing around the room, like dodgeball. If you don’t catch them and throw them back, they’ll all lose their energy and end up on the floor behind you. Go through the motions in the physical world, but don’t participate on an energetic level.

Image

How I Came to Sparkle Again by Kaya McLaren

How it begins:Ā It was fair to say Jill Anthony’s first day back at work had been a disaster – so much so, in fact, that her supervisor had sent her home early. She just wasn’t ready to be back. Enough time had not passed.

It was a long drive from home to Florida and this is one of the books that was savoured on the way. I so enjoyed this book. For some reason I haven’t read a whole lot of adult fiction as of late, and this book made me question why not. (Most likely because YA is so easy to get through and I have so many distractions…)

This is a wonderful story of loss and change. Making your way, through obstacles that were unexpected and nothing like you had planned for. The characters are funny and flawed, real and written with impact. Uncle Howard, how I wish he was mine. He was after my own heart. I read this one slower than I usually do and felt like I got to know the characters better. They resonated with me – their upheavals, their need for difference, their struggle to find their place.

Read it to remember the value of friendship, the answers that you can find in a book and the strength that hides within us all, even when we’re sure it’s gone.

5 comments

      1. Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Obsidian, Time Between Us, and Every Day to name a few. Every Day was my most recent favorite–excellent premise and well executed. Thanks for the recommendation. What other good books have you read lately?

      2. One of the books I really enjoyed was This is How by Augusten Burroughs. I have been all over the map lately, but that one sticks out in my mind. Have you read the Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater? Or the Birthmarked series by Caragh M. O’Brien? I’ll have to look the ones you mentioned up!

Leave a Reply

