The Giver

Image

The Giver by Lois Lowry

How it begins: It was almost December, and Jonas was beginning to be frightened.

The story was so simple and so sad. The ending, although ambiguous, felt tragic and made me want to pause. I can easily go from book to book, one ends, another begins. But when I finished this one, I stopped reading for the night. To me, there was so much loss in the pages. Loss of emotion, of memories, loss of growth and choice. There was room for the reader to decide about many things in the story and there was room to feel and to consider. I felt so much loss while reading this story. And longing – longing for Jonas and for Gabe, for those who were released and the Old who are celebrated as they are sent to sleep.

Days after finishing it, I still have thoughts about it. I don’t think I’d ever read it again, but I don’t think I’ll forget it either.

Leave a Reply

