the sky is everywhere

6604794

 

Grief is a house where the chairs
have forgotten how to hold us
the mirrors how to reflect us
the walls how to contain us
Grief is a house that disappears
each time someone knocks at the door
or rings the bell
a house that blows into the air
at the slightest gust
that buries itself deep in the ground
while everyone is sleeping
Grief is a house where no one can protect you…
…where the doors no longer let you in
or out.

THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE by Jandy Nelson

How it begins ” Gram is worried about me. It’s not just because my sister Bailey died four weeks ago, or because my mother hasn’t contacted me in sixteen years, or even because suddenly all I think about is sex. She is worried about me because one of her houseplants has spots.”

I loved this book. Everything about it. Every page. I haven’t copied down as many passages from a book as I did getting through this one in a long time. I found the writing beautiful, and wonderful to read. Nelson eases a heavy subject with lighthearted weirdness and people to love, even when they seem unloveable. Grab it. Read it. The ebook is only 325 pages. You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

